The second day of the rest of my life

5:33AM: My alarm went off, it was a song by Punkin Pie, which I had forgotten I had left in my CD player alarm clock (that I got for my 12th birthday) and the difference in music confused me, and somehow weaved its way into my dream. Every day for the past two weeks I’ve woken up to “We Get On” by Kate Nash, so the change in wake-up music was a bit jarring. It was the first Monday of “the rest of my life.”

I graduated college on Saturday morning. I was sleepy, and unwilling to pay attention to all 700-some grads walking that morning. I sat between Meg and Anamita, we cheered for our friends, and otherwise chatted. People keep asking me, “So how does it feel?” Well, honestly, it actually does feel different. The sinking guilt that I am used to when I am being lazy or spending my time frivolously is gone. There are no papers or projects looming over my head, and for better or for worse, I can live for the day (well, almost.) I was able to hold back tears (even during the National Anthem, which, as cheesey as it is, almost always makes me tear up.) I hugged my friends from the past four years, and even though I kind of knew that I may never see some of them again, I was happy for all of us.

Anyway, today is the second day of the rest of my life, although, I guess it’s the first day of the rest of my life. Every day is the first day of the rest of my life, and I plan on living accordingly.

Emily Eats and Drinks has been updated.

One response to “The second day of the rest of my life

  1. Thanks for the update!!

Leave a Reply

