more post-grad babble

First of all, I did something somewhat adult this week: I bought myself a desk and put it together. Some of the screws stripped out while I was trying to assemble the thing, so the top is a little wobbly. But, now I have a desk. Check it out:


So, I’m pretty behind on my work, which is really no surprise. Tomorrow I am playing catch-up since I don’t have class until 7:30PM, and an entire day to fill. I wonder if I will ever get to the point in my life that I am not constantly terribly behind on things. It might happen, it might not. I guess if I never set any responsibilities for myself, it won’t be an issue.

Speaking of beyond school, Sunday a new batch of post-colligate plans were made. Since beyond May 30 I have no place to live, and therefore no job at the Visitor Information Center, I am going to move to an island in the UP of Michigan. As of now, this seems to be the perfect post-college plan. Make some money, rent some boats, sell some fudge, ignore growing up, drink a lot at night, and enjoy the beauty of the Great Lakes Region. This is an idea that Megan put into my head, and that Candice encouraged. Right now, it’s the three of us. Everyone else is welcome to join. I’ve really kind of stopped worrying about what I’m going to do beyond summer of 2008, because there’s really no point in it. I’m not going to spend my time worrying about what I’m going to do and meticulously planning my life–I’d rather just feel it out.

That being said, I recently was introduced to something horrible: a graduate program that sounds very appealing to me. It’s a Masters of Arts Management from Columbia in Chicago, and the focus is in Arts in Youth and Community Development. If I did something like this, I’d be one step closer to starting a grassroots media organization, an arts camp for youth, or something else that is a little more respectable than “I like to make films.” I’d be $30K in the hole, assuming I get no assistantship, so as of today, Tuesday, October 23, 2007, this is not an option for me. Plus, I don’t feel like taking the GRE right now. Wah wah.

Last Thursday, UFO brought the Gadabout Traveling Film Festival to BGSU. We had a potluck at my house before hand (I love potlucks!) and we fed a good amount of people. I strayed from my traditional dish: baked mac and cheese. I made some vegan chili that was complimented, and I’m pretty sure a lot of people did not know it was a vegan dish. ANYWAY, the actual festival went really well, and the films that were shown were fun and quirky and original and inspiring, and pretty much everything I was hoping they would be. There was one film in particular was amazing. It was called Fifty States and was a series of photos with a voice over talking about one man’s travels over a two year period. It, well, sort of made me want to ditch any post-college plans and drive around, see things, stop to work when I run out of money, and keep going. This is a bad idea, but right now it’s looking like the best option.


screw everything.

6 responses to “more post-grad babble

  1. Aww. I can just imagine y’all in a summer cottage by the lake…enjoying the beauty of the Northern Great Lakes Region. Instead of making money in Dayton with the dirty river water fountain, why not do it next to a much cleaner lake. Good idea Emily!

    Also, the thought of you making vegan chili makes me hot. I wish I could have eaten some.

  2. Dustin Meadows!

    Emily.

    You should be Pee Wee Herman for Halloween.

  3. i didn’t realize the program was at Columbia College in Chicago. My best friend just finished her undergrad degree in Dance from there. Pretty awesome school, and obvi Chicago is awesome. Just saying.

  4. shelby, not helping.

  5. oh man. right. i forgot that you “dont” wanna go to grad school. it is way expensi. but try for an assistanceship – if it works out, take advantage, if not…try again later? uhh just saying…i wont talk anymore about chicago or columbia or you.

  6. love the new layout

Leave a Reply

