not looking for my gold watch yet

Saturday was the Girl Scout State Fair Committee post-fair meeting. I was roped into creating an email list for fair participants and planning and running a paper airplane contest. Good one, Emily. Anyway, after the meeting, I was given all sorts of advice. Bob, probably one of my favorite committee members, pulled me aside to give me his two cents. Recently retired, Bob seems to coast through things now. He doesn’t take things too seriously, and he doesn’t have to. He said something along the lines of:

“Emily. When you work for a company for twenty five years, they give you a gold watch. Now, how old are most people when they retire? Sixty five, right? Right. Now, subtract the twenty five years for your gold watch, and how old will you be? 40. How old are you now? 21? You have twenty years to figure out what you want your career to be.”

Now, Bob sometimes borders on crazy old man, but I think this is good advice. When he first shared his nugget with me, I was a little puzzled, but when it comes down to it, Bob is far wiser than I am. He has years and years of experience on me, and I should feel privileged that he wants to share what he’s learned with me. Bob is a great man. And according to Bob, I’ve got time, and that’s comforting. Thank you Bob for the advice and the countless hours of laughter that you have provided me over the past seven years.

2 responses to “not looking for my gold watch yet

  1. Bob sounds amazing.

    How are mah other Girl Scout gurls doing? Did you have fun at the meeting? Any new gossip?

  2. Dustin Meadows!

    That sounds like some damn sound advice. Bob should tell Doc Ellison where to stick it.

Leave a Reply

