Q: Emily, what have you been doing?
A: I honestly don’t know.

Last year in Springboard we did an exercise that required us to account for every hour of our week:

Nine hours of my week are accounted for by work, another eighteen by class, about three hours in transit to and from campus. That still leaves about one hundred and thirty eight minutes that I need to account for, weekly. If I figure I get eight hours of sleep a night (which I usually do) I’m down to eighty two hours, minus about three hours weekly for meetings, so seventy nine. I spend about an hour at the grocery over several trips and about two in the shower, so seventy seven. Erica and I spend about two hours at Myles, seventy five. I’ll give myself a (conservative) three hours sitting at the union, seventy one. Almost three full 24-hour days go unaccounted for with any sort of productivity.

How I think I divide up the remaining seventy one hours:

  • Four movie-watching hours (not including the six hours film classes)
  • Fifteen hours of reruns on television
  • Four chatting (in person) hours
  • One actual homework hour
  • Two laying in bed before getting up hours
  • Fifteen internet hours (conservative)
  • Two hours at DQ, specifically
  • Ten hours eating with friends (excluding both Myles Street Bakery and DQ)
  • Five adventure hours

If I’ve done my math right, that still leaves me about thirteen hours that I really can’t account for. How embarrassing.

Other notable things that have happened in the last three weeks of my life:

  • My Grandparents 50th Wedding Anniversary
  • Rode bikes a lot
  • Listened to lots and lots of music, thanks to my emusic.com subscription, and getting back in contact with Mike, who has a fantastic music collection and is always willing to share with me
  • Had a party, was complimented on the good time
  • Visited the windmills, the BG Flea Market and a horse show going on at the Wood County Fair Grounds
  • Saw 3:10 to Yuma, was blown away. It has replaced The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance as my favorite western.

I can honestly say that I’m enjoying myself, though.

2 responses to “

  1. You only spend an hour on homework?!

    Also, I LOVE FLEA MARKETS! When and where is the BG one?!?!

  2. amazing break down of your week Emily! I’m nervous to figure that out myself….loads of unaccounted time, probably lots of “organizing” homework with minimal actual homework time, and aimless internet searches account for more than I’d be willing to admit!

    This week? next week? hopefully you’ll be able to add 3 Hours Playing Board Games and eating food prepared with the Magic Bullet 🙂 Let me know when you’re available for hangouts 🙂

Leave a Reply

