excitements

The last two weeks have been busy for me.

I went on a walk one Sunday morning. I set out orginally to go get a cup of coffee at Starbucks, but ended up wandering through a farmers market, through a hip Asian neighborhood (complete with karaoke bars) and in and out of a slew of nurseries, where I admired the exotic plants and delicate bonsai bushes and trees. Very pretty. I also ate the best tasting peach I had eaten in years.

Last Tuesday Meg and I attended a Next Gen Femmes speaker event where we listened to Lynda Obst, a seasoned producer speak about being a woman in the entertainment industry. She recently wrote an article for the New York Times about the topic. I agreed with a lot of what she said–it seemed like most of the women in the room did. The things she talked about weren’t new or groundbreaking, but sometimes it’s good to hear or read someone’s organized thoughts on something you’re going through. “This town is hard on the normies,” she said to us. I have been reminded over and over again this summer that if I want to get anywhere, I am going to have to work hard. I’m willing to.

Langhorne Slim played at the Troubador on Thursday night. Maybe it was because I was excited about Marie coming, maybe it was that I had not seen a show in a while, maybe it was the two whiskey sours I had downed before his set, but I loved it. This was the largest crowd I’d seen around him, but probably the one who was most unfamiliar with his music. It was a good time. The second act was pretty lackluster (my new favorite describing word) and we didn’t stay for the rest of his set.

Marie came to visit for four short days. We picked her up at the Burbank airport on Friday morning, got lost, bummed around the pool, went to Malibu, ate dinner and went to a midnight screening of Party Monster. James St. James, who wrote the book the movie is based on, was there to answer some questions. It was a fun time. I think the same theater is playing Hedwig and the Angry Inch and also Wet Hot American Summer. Maybe we will go. Most of the weekend was pretty low key (for us). We Photoboothed a lot, and went to the pool a lot.


(we love la)

For Saturday, I have decided to treat myself to a morning of exploring the Aquarium of the Pacific in Long Beach. The ticket was a little pricey at $20, but it should get me an enjoyable, somewhat quiet morning to look at fish and forget the nightmares of traffic and pigeons flying at me.

I’m coming home to Ohio on August 1. That’s very soon. I’m going to miss this place.

Leave a Reply

