Santa Monica

This afternoon, Grant and I decided to head down to Santa Monica to look for jobs. We went to a very touristy area and filled out applications for Starbucks. The Starbucks we applied to also has a Hear Music store in it, which is pretty cool. They are looking for baristas, and Grant and I both got interviews. Mine is tomorrow, his is on Monday.

While in the area, we ran into lots of interesting characters. My favorite exchange was between an older man in a suit wanting us to give him money to feed the orphans (he was pretty unclear about which orphans these were, I’m pretty sure he would have settled for a cigarette.) He started the conversation with “Hello newlyweds!” He shook our hands, told me he liked my smile, and after Grant told him that he did not have any money to spare, he asked if I did. Before I could answer, in a stroke of genius, Grant said “She can’t. She’s pregnant!” He congratulated us, being the soon-to-be parents that we are not, and we walked away laughing a little bit. Grant’s going to be a daddy!

We got some lunch at a cafe that was very dark and pretty pricey, but very good. They also gave us a token to use the bathroom. To get the door to open, you had to insert the little coin they gave us at the register. It was bizarre.

After lunch we headed back to the car (that was parked in a public parking garage located under an apartment building) but stopped at Barnes and Noble on the way. I picked up a comic book graphic novel called Clumsy by Jeffery Brown. I had not heard of him, but I liked the drawings, and the first couple of pages I read seemed interesting. It also had some good reviews on it:

“Clumsy is the story of a new relationship and is stunning in it’s realism and honesty. The frailty of the drawn line perfectly matches the human frailty portrayed within the story. It’s just so damn human. This is my favorite graphic novel ever. If Jeffery Brown never draws another line again, he has already won a permanent place in my heart. Still, I want more.”
-James Kochalka

I think we are going to get some milkshakes at Cafe 50’s down the street when Mike gets off work. Cafe 50s is a super campy 50s-style diner, although it seems to have a little more of a authentic feel than oh, say, the 5 & Diner in Tulsa, Oklahoma (where my father and I made the mistake of dining in.) The other day, Grant saw a comic book writer there. Nerd.

6 responses to “Santa Monica

  1. Hahaha. I love that married story. L.A. is full of wonderfully strange people.

  2. Dustin Meadows!

    It’s too late! You already called it a comic book!

    Also, congrats on the bastard child with your boyfriend. You two are living in sin as far as I’m concerned.

  3. Dustin, did you see that we are newly weds?

  4. That story made me smile 🙂
    Oh LA

  5. Dustin Meadows!

    Yes, which means in all likelihood that the child was conceived prior to the ceremony! WHORE! WHORE!

  6. I’m jealous. Very jealous.

Leave a Reply

