post-college summer plans

I feel like I’m always coming up with some sort of new plan for post-college, but I think I’m going to stick with this one…

This weekend I saw a documentary about a student trip to Peru. After watching it, I had a small epiphany, and realized that I need to be a camp counselor next summer. I am at the point in my life that I am responsible for myself, and pretty much only myself. I need to do some sort of service while I’m not attached to a full-time job, a family, a mortgage, and have the energy. I am young, and it would be selfish of me not to give back in some small way. As a counselor, I’d still be paid and all of that, but working for a camp (probably a scout camp) will not be about making money, but about serving others. I owe a lot to GSUSA.

I am also very excited about living in the woods. Nature is something I have always loved and had a deep respect for. Spending part of today along the Maumee River furthered my ache to be in the woods again. Sleeping in a platform tent in southern Ohio seems very appealing.

“I went into the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.” Henry David Thoreau

My father does not seem to think this is a good idea.

3 responses to “post-college summer plans

  1. Dustin Meadows!

    Your father also thinks it’s funny when he says that every Mexican is named Jose. I miss platform tents, I haven’t slept in one since my early high school days (read:the Middle Ages) when I was still with the Boy Scouts.

    But basically what you’re saying is…camping trip? Huh? Huh?

  2. they use that quote in the book “into the wild” pretty nifty book…

    the woods sound nice. we’ve got chaparelle here (recalling from earth science in h.s.) its like desert with stunted, gangly, bush/trees. not the same.

  3. I think if I had ever been to camp I would like nature more now but since I didn’t a drive through the metroparks is all I ever need before I start to freak out about bees and spiders.

Leave a Reply

