oh, things

I’m pretty sure that I’m coming down with something. My stomach has been feeling not-well since yesterday morning. I hate a cheese sandwich for breakfast which helped a little. Mehh. This isn’t exactly the ideal weekend for it, either. I have to work all day on both Saturday and Sunday, so I will not be able to catch up on sleep, and I am still feeling a little on California time. MY LIFE IS SO HARD.

Thursday morning Mick and I drove up to Bowling Green. In Dayton, we did not need coats. By the time we got to Lima, there was snow, and I was very upset. The trip was pretty uneventful. A lot of the way we listened to gangster rap (“Still” by The Getto Boys, “Down for Whatever” by Ice Cube, etc.) We stopped at a rest area that had closed bathrooms, so we had to use the Port-a-Johns. Gross. Well, more than gross, they were cold. But, because it was so cold, they didn’t smell. So, in the end, mid-Spring is the best time to use an outdoor toilet. I spent most of Thursday in classes, and we had a Student Voice meeting, and somehow I got roped into digitizing footage this week. Gross.

Corey’s friend, Dave, came up Thursday evening. Corey invited me to go to some bars with him. It was pretty fun, but all in all a pretty bad idea. We hung out at Brathaus for a while and got mad when there was no Bruce Springsteen on the jukebox, and talked about the Ohio State Fair. (Dave also loves the fair.) We were deeply saddened when we discovered that there was in fact NO karaoke anywhere in town that night. I had mustered up enough courage to do a wonderful rendition of “What’s Up” by 4 Non Blondes, or possibly Betty Everett’s “The Shoop Shoop Song.” It’s your loss, Bowling Green.

Erica and I had a good time at Myles yesterday. They had cupcakes, so we got really excited. Then we talked about why we love cupcakes so much. (For kind of a long time.) Other things discussed: Bruce Springsteen, ways to save money, “The Debbie Downer Sound,” and the qualifications of good party songs.

Last night Steve had people over to Campbell Hill 95, which was also a very good time. As usual, there was lots of dancing, and general merriment. Joey danced with the frog a lot, and at one point somehow knocked down a bunch of Christmas lights that were hanging from the ceiling. Joey is a very talented boy.

I have a lot to do this weekend… One company would like to get some script coverage from me, so I have a feature to read and cover, I also have some overdue Ohio history work to finish up. Good thing I’m getting paid to sit at the Visitor Center for 12 hours this weekend. I’ll probably read blogs the whole time.

I also found this:
Hold on to what is good,
even if it’s a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe,
even if it’s a tree that stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do,
even if it’s a long way from here.
Hold on to your life,
even if it’s easier to let go.
Hold on to my hand,
even if I’ve gone away from you.
– Pueblo Indian Prayer

4 responses to “oh, things

  1. I love cupcakes beacuse that is what everyone brought in for their birthday treat in grade school.

    No peanuts included.

  2. I feel so silly. Today I asked you if you were on spring break, when I knew perfectly well that you were in LA on spring break last week. Silly, silly Sarah.

  3. Stephen L. Hildreth

    Oh yes, yes, there was dancing. Some more interesting than others.

  4. The Pueblos need to learn how to rhyme.

Leave a Reply

