throwing responsibility to the wind

Speaking of throwing things to the wind, in the past week, I have heard “Cast Your Fate To The Wind” by Vince Guaraldi twice in two different locations. I had not heard that tune in about two years, and I was very excited both times.


(hottie.)

Back to responsibility… I’m letting go for today and tomorrow. I’m not going to dinosaur lecture today, and this evening I am missing a Tikva executive meeting to go to Cleveland to see Langhorne Slim again. After seeing him this summer, and hearing all of his recent recordings, I think that it’s a good investment of my time to see him again. Musicians just don’t sound like him anymore, and I don’t know when my next chance will be to see him. (He doesn’t come to Ohio too often.) In reviews I read of him, people always say that they can hear Brooklyn in his music, although it has never been something that I’ve picked up on. If it means that I’ll get to hear more music like Mr. Slim’s, I can move to NYC. I’d be miserable in all other areas, but at least I could hear that apparent Brooklyn sound. Anyway, I’m skipping out on an hour and half of work and going to The Grog Shop to see Langhorne Slim with Corey. I couldn’t be more excited about.

In other irresponsibility news, tomorrow I am missing (possibly) all of my classes to do a day of freelancing with E103. We are shooting a video for O-Reg. I am getting paid $75 to be a production assistant. I called to tell my mother about it, and she asked if I was missing classes. I explained that I was, but I also told her that they were both TCOM video classes, and she didn’t seem to mind. This is my first professional gig (professional as in, I’m getting paid.) It’s an early shoot, but I’ll be giddy all morning. Getting paid to do what I love? Yes, please!

4 responses to “throwing responsibility to the wind

  1. I tried to download this song but had no luck 😦

    Anyway have fun in cleveland tonight and with the shoot. Congratulations on becoming a profesional.

  2. Stephen L. Hildreth

    I’m jealous of Langhorne, your crazy fairboard friends, but not getting paid. Welcome to the club.

  3. ohhh, theresa, you need to hear it. it’s beautiful.

  4. I must say, Guaraldi looks eerily like my favorite professor, Heineman. Wouldn’t it be cool if they were actually the same person? Hmmmm….

    You would, by the way, love Heineman, given your recent obsession with Ohio history. And you should hear him rant about the (often overlooked) importance of the War of 1812.

Leave a Reply

