here kitty kitty


hey there little kitty kitty

Have I ever told you how much I love kitties? Well I do. Actually I love most furry little animals that I can pet. Except for: ferrets, gerbils, lots of mice in one place. Anyway, back to kitty-cats. My father is highly allergic to these adorable animals, so as a child, I was never able to have one. Not even an outside cat that would just roam around the neighborhood and I would feed and pretend it was mine! (I tried once. It resulted in my mom having to take it in the car and dropping it off in another neighborhood. It also resulted in a lot of tears from the eleven year-old version of me.) Now that I live on my own (sorta…) I am still not allowed to have a kitty. Not only does my landlord not let me have one, but my cute animal-hating room mate, Meg also refuses. (Okay, not true.) If I had a kitty, I would name her Harriet Tubman, and I would clean her littler box every day, and feed her and give her lots of love.

Now, why all the talk about kitties? Tomorrow I get to go to Toledo to cover the Mid-Michigan Cat Fancier’s 283rd Championship & Household Cat Show with Cat Agility for Videobank. Yeahhhhhhhh. We caught wind of this amazing event from Marie’s mother who plans on being there this morning. I can’t decide which is the best part of it yet (other than seeing all the kitties) but 1. I get in for free because we are considered “Press,” and 2. There is a cat obstacle course. Yeah. I know. Anyway, Steve, Corey and I are heading up to Maumee tomorrow morning to shoot interviews with cat owners and cat trainers and cat superfans. Oh, and I might wander off and steal a kitten. Just sayin’.


From their 2004 show in Novi, Michigan

In non-adorable news, I’m working another Saturday at the VIC. I don’t mind the weekends like I used to. I get to listen to whatever music I want as loud as I want. I also get six hours to myself to do whatever I please (well, almost.)

Before work this morning I stopped at Tim Hortons to grab a bagel and cup of coffee (VIC coffee is baaad. Kyle can attest to this.) Well, the girl working the drive-thru gets an F- today. Usually I have no problem with the service at Tim’s, but today was a disaster. First, I pulled up, ordered the “Bagel and Coffee,” which rings in at $1.99 plus tax. Then the girl says “Alright. You can pull up now.” Whaaat? I don’t know if this girl has never been in one of these new drive-thru things, but it is her job to tell me what my total is. I pull up to the window and she says “That will be 2.29.” So I think Humm, that extra thirty cents must be tax. She hands me my wrapped up “bagel” and tells me to have a good day. At this point I realize that I have not been given my cup of coffee. So I sit in my car at the window trying to get her attention. She finally comes back and gives me a funny look and says “Did you need anything else?” I politely tell her that I got the bagel and coffee combo, she looks puzzled and then says “What size would you like?” I tell her a small is fine, and she gives me my cup of coffee and then charges me $1.35! Because I don’t want to argue with her, I cough up another dollar, quarter and dime, and go on my way to the VIC. I get to the VIC and go to eat my delicious bagel, and when I peel back the wrapper I was horrified to see that it is not a toasted bagel at all! It is a sausage, egg, and cheese sandwich! Now, how “bagel and coffee” is mistaken for “sausage, egg, and cheese sandwich” is beyond me. Lucky for her, I am not my father, who has been known to go all the way back to an establishment to complain, and infamously once threw a sandwich on the counter at Wendy’s, pointed to the cashier and yell “You make a lousy sandwich!” We estimate that my father ingests an average of 3 pints of bodily fluids a year. Anyway, I peeled off the cheese and sausage and suffered through a (pretty tasty) egg sandwich. Don’t get me wrong–I love Tim Hortons. I will probably stop by there tomorrow before the Cat Show.

Sarah Wagner, if you are reading this, remind me that I need to send you a song. I have a feeling you would like it. Also, I lost your home address again. I have something to send to you. Want to email me your address? Of course you do.

Matt and I were going to go to Kelleys Island this weekend, but after finding out that the ferry costs a whooping $13 for an adult, we decided to postpone our trip for the Spring, when the weather would be worth spending $13, and also we can spend more time out on the island.

Meg and I made Veggie Pizza last night. It was well-received. I think that it’s pretty great that some of my friends think that I’m a good cook, when really I am just using the old family recipes. Crap. I just gave away my secret. The real culinary geniuses are the other women in my family. I just get their secrets written down for me on index cards.

I’m starting to think that maybe I should be a middle school teacher rather than a film crew member. My mother always told me that I was good with kids, and I think that I like the middle school aged ones the best (so sassy!) Too bad I didn’t have this revelation two years ago. Now I’m five semesters into my film production degree, and I don’t have the money or time to switch over at this point.

It’s rainy, but I am pretty cheery this morning. It’s amazing what a good night’s sleep and a cup of coffee does for me.

6 responses to “here kitty kitty

  1. I totally feel your pain with Tim Horton’s. I stop there every Saturday morning and a bagel (like you!): blueberry, toasted with cream cheese. I eat it while reading the paper, taking a break from all the heavy-duty cleaning I do before 0900 on Saturdays at the shop. It really hits the spot.

    Well, a couple of weeks ago, not only did it take a ridiculously long period of time to get me my bagel, when I got to the shop and cleaned my heart out for an hour and FINALLY took the time to enjoy my yummy bagel… it was a PLAIN bagel, burned, with no cream cheese!

    If it hadn’t been pouring rain, I might have been tempted to go back and complain. Instead, I went to the Gulf Station and bought stale doughnuts.

  2. Yes. VIC coffee tastes makes ass taste like ice cream. Also, I’ve had a problem like that with Tim Horton’s as well. The SAME Tim Horton’s…and pretty much the same situation.

  3. How dare you blog about cats and not mention Pseudo!!!

  4. you should not be a middle school teacher.

    you would fall in love with a student and go to jail.

    Film crew much better idea.

    LYLAS

  5. I’m convinced that the BG Tim Hortons is employed by people that were just given the uniforms and the keys to the store and told to go crazy. That having been said, I still enjoy going there for the occasional bagel. Their green tea kind of sucks, though.

    Question for the next entry — why would you name your kitty Harriet Tubman? Any particular reason?

  6. Yay! I see you are starting a cat colection too, maybe we can live in ajacent shacks and go shopping for kitty litter togther when we retire.

Leave a Reply

