Camp

The past six days I spent in Athens working on the Challenge and Change program with a group of amazing 23 Appalachian Girl Scouts. During many times in the week I wanted to quit, but the girls pushed through, despite some of the boring and tedious activities they were presented with.

After lunch, walking around town, and coffee with Katy Kelly (which was wonderful) I headed to Lincoln Hall to check in. To my surprise, I knew my room mate and fellow counselor, Kristy Schnell, sister of my good friend Joey. Saturday evening the counselors and other staff members went over the curriculum and retired early to our air conditioned dorm rooms.

On Saturday night Amy and Jane, the writers of the Challenge and Change book, arrived. Amy is a megabitch and feels above all of us simple Ohio folk, and makes this quite evident. Jane, on the other hand, was very pleasant when Amy was not around. They are from the Portland area, and it is clear that they live very cushy lives, and upon realizing how empty their lives really were, they wrote a book about how teenaged girls could change their communities. Liberty, a fellow counselor, has speculations that they wanted to make an Appalachian their pet. She also has her suspicions that their toy poodles would be better treated. I don’t like these women.

Sunday night the girls arrived and we started right into lessons, and for the remainder of the week the camp was run on a pretty tight schedule. The girls were woken up (by me) every morning at seven. Breakfast was served, and activities started promptly after. We broke for meals, but went right back into learning until about 9:30 every night. At this time, the girls were allowed to have a little free time, and lights out was at 11. I usually passed out at about this time as well.

I met some pretty amazing people this week, and I hope that our friendships continue to grow. In our large amount of down time (when the girls were doing Modules in their workbooks) I grew very close to Nichole and Tawny, two girls who love people watching and making fun of others as much as I do. We had a pretty good time.

Overall, the camp was a good experience. It was well worth leaving everything behind–my friends, family, jobs, worries–and getting to know new people and doing something completely new to me. Would I do it again? In a heartbeat. I’ve decided that if I am unable to get an internship in Los Angeles or Chicago (or even Toronto?) next year, I’ll try to get a camp job. It’s a good time.

On another note, summer is coming to a quick end. The Ohio State Fair is fast approaching, and two days after the fair I move into Frazie 14, a few days after that classes start. Humph.

Leave a Reply

