Irish, Christmas, and Microwaved Goodness

First off: Only 106 days until St. Patrick’s Day. All hell will break loose on that day. To prepare for the day the fury comes, I am listening to Flogging Molly.

Secondly, last night until about 2A, Marie, Candice and I worked on Christmas decorations. There is now a lovely snowflake chain above the futon in 235.

What I really wanted to write about is my recent contentment with a few new microwave products. Don’t get me wrong, I would much rather cook on a stove, but because they are “fire hazards” and “there’s no room,” I don’t have the privilege of owning a stove for the dorm room.

The first product that really gets my praise is the new Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Easy Fries. These little golden deliciousnesses are microwave-cooked fries that are ready–and crispy–in only 4 minutes! I was unsure at first, but apparently the confident is fairly confident in their product, and are giving away coupons on http://www.freeeasyfries.com/. Go there, get a coupon, go to the grocery. They are located in the frozen food area, by the other potato products. Delish.


The second product that I really enjoy is Amy’s Bowls Pesto Tortellini. I pay a pretty (meal plan) penny for this microwave treat, but it’s worth it. Not only is it very tasty, but I get my fill. Although fattening, it is “organic,” which always makes me feel “healthy.” Fucking hippies.

My most recent microwave discovery was actually brought to my attention by the marvelous Kyle Whited. Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice is one helluva product, if I do say so myself. $2.19 (at Chilly’s Convince Store, where everything is signifcantly overpriced) will get you a 8.8 ounce bag of this ready-to-heat-then-eat rice. There are several flavors, including Spanish style, buttery flavor, roasted chicken, and teriyaki. After only 90 seconds, you have a half pound of piping hot rice.

I like to have my carbs, and eat them too.

2 responses to “Irish, Christmas, and Microwaved Goodness

  1. mmm thoes french fries look mighty delish. i do beleive i might have to try them.

  2. Dr. Dustin Meadows!

    Oh, Emily. You’re funny and you can cook if there’s no oven. I think you’ll do just find in your quest for a husband…

    Su-su-sudio!

Leave a Reply

